English & Russian edition · by Anton Chekhov · Trans. Boris Dralyuk
$15/Book, Free Domestic Shipping
The Little Trilogy (ebook)
Price: $4.99 USD

the Little TrilogyThe Little Trilogy

Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) is universally regarded as a master of the short story, and nowhere is his rich contribution to the genre on fuller display than in the so-called Little Trilogy (1898): “The Man in a Case,” “Gooseberries,” and “About Love.” These interconnected stories reflect the entire range of his gifts, his ability to hold comedy in balance with tragedy, to wrest beauty from ugliness, and to transform the pathetic into the sublime. Written rather late in his career, the Little Trilogy also serves as a kind of artistic autobiography, charting the evolution of his own approach to story-telling from humorous caricature, to Tolstoyan sentimentality, to a uniquely Chekhovian study of “individual cases,” in which generalities are dispensed with and judgment is withheld.
Praise for the work of Chekhov


Anton Chekhov

“Reading Chekhov was just like the angels singing to me.”
—Eudora Welty


“Chekhov makes everything work — the air, the light, the cold, the dirt, etc. Show these things and you don’t have to say them.”
—Flannery O’Connor


“Ach, Tchekov! Why are you dead? Why can’t I talk to you in a big darkish room at late evening — where the light is green from the waving trees outside? I’d like to write a series of Heavens: that would be one.”
—Katherine Mansfield


“If I have to choose between Chekhov and most hip-hop, I’ll go with Chekhov.”
—Cornel West



About the Translator

Boris Dralyuk holds a PhD in Slavic Languages and Literatures from UCLA, where he teaches Russian literature. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, the Times Literary SupplementWorld Literature Today, and other journals. He is the translator of Leo Tolstoy’s How Much Land Does a Man Need (Calypso Editions, 2010) and A Slap in the Face: Four Russian Futurist Manifestos (Insert Blanc, 2013), and co‑translator of Polina Barskova’s The Zoo in Winter: Selected Poems (Melville House, 2011) and Dariusz Sośnicki’s The World Shared: Poems (BOA Editions, 2014). Robert Chandler, Irina Mashinski, and he are co-editing the forthcoming Anthology of Russian Poetry from Pushkin to Brodsky (Penguin Classics, 2014). He received the 2011 Compass Translation Award and, with Irina Mashinski, the 2012 Joseph Brodsky/Stephen Spender Translation Prize.



Posted on

February 6, 2014